Publish Date: 
Monday, March 2, 2020 - 09:00

TRI CEO calls for Eureka Award nominations

TRI CEO Professor Scott Bell is strongly encouraging researchers based at the Institute to enter the 2020 Australian Museum Eureka Prizes.

Known as the ‘Academy Awards’ for Australian science, the prestigious prizes are the country’s most comprehensive science awards, honouring excellence across the areas of research & innovation, leadership, science engagement, and school science.

Professor Bell and his cystic fibrosis research team were awarded the 2018 Eureka Prize for Infectious Diseases Research following their ground-breaking studies, which have led to improved prevention of cross-infection for people with cystic fibrosis.

“Receiving the Eureka Prize was an honour as well as very humbling,” he said.

“The award recognised a 20-year research journey involving a large multi-institutional team, including researchers with various backgrounds and talents.

“Our work had a humble beginning, but has directly translated into improved patient treatment, and has led to changes in infection control policies for the care of people with cystic fibrosis.

“The Eureka Prize provided a huge impetus to continue to enhance our translation potential.

“I know there are many groups in TRI with even better stories which need to be recognised!

“Even if you only get short-listed, the dinner is amazing and an incredible opportunity to network.”

In 2020, key Eureka Prizes will be awarded for:

  • Excellence in Data Science
  • Excellence in Interdisciplinary Scientific Research
  • Infectious Diseases Research
  • Innovative Use of Technology
  • Outstanding Early Career Researcher
  • Outstanding Science in Safeguarding Australia
  • Scientific Research
  • Emerging Leader in Science
  • Leadership in Innovation and Science
  • Outstanding Mentor of Young Researchers
  • Innovation in Citizen Science

The Eureka Prizes open on Wednesday 4 March, with entries closing 7pm AEST Friday 1 May 2020. Since the prizes first began in 1990, more than four million dollars in prize money and 416 Eureka Prizes have been awarded.

For more information:

To enter: