Publish Date: 
Friday, November 9, 2018 - 15:30

Advance Mentoring Program

2018 Advance mentees

Dr Ramya Movva from Mater Research has been selected and awarded as one of the Advance mentees from the highly competitive pool of university candidates across Australia for the Advance mentoring program. Ramya has been matched with this year’s incredible Advance Global Impact Award winner - Nobel Laureate Professor Barry Marshall. She will have the privilege to be mentored by Prof Marshall over a 12-month period to help achieve her professional development goals.

In 2005 Barry J. Marshall and J. Robin Warren were awarded the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in recognition of their 1982 discovery that a bacterium, Helicobacter pylori, causes one of the most common and important diseases of mankind: peptic ulcer disease. Dr Marshall is a professor and director of University of Western Australia Marshall Centre and co-director of Infagen (HK) Ltd.

About Advance

The Advance Awards is an annual event in Australia, and celebrates Australians and alumni living overseas, who exhibit remarkable talent, exceptional vision, ambition, and who are future leaders and innovators in their chosen field. They are the only awards to recognise the important contributions of the more than one million Australians living abroad. Advance identifies a number of industry sectors that will be of particular importance to Australia and Australians in the coming decades.

The 2018 Advance Awards were held at the Sydney Town Hall on Thursday the 18th of October. Category Awards are being given to the most exceptional entrant in each sector. In addition, the Advance Global Impact Award is a Special Award and Advance Alumni Award will celebrate the achievements of a non-Australian alumnus of an Australian university.

About Advance mentoring program

Advance aims to nurture and support the next generation of Australian leaders. Advance is devoted to creating a platform for the exchange of knowledge, connectivity and ideas to help inspire and empower global Australians. The Advance Awards Mentoring Program has these goals in mind, and matches Australian university students with Advance Award Winners for a 12-month, one-on-one mentoring program. Mentors work with university students over a 12-month period to share their own professional and personal experiences and knowledge to support students with their development goals.

Advance mentoring program is open to all last year undergraduate and postgraduate students studying at an Australian university. Mentees will be selected based on their demonstrated success in their field, achievements, interests, community involvement and alignment with Advance winners.

Applications for the 2019 Advance Awards mentoring program will be open soon - stay tuned.

For more information on the eligibility criteria, mentors, and reasons to apply, refer to the 2019 Mentoring Program guidelines here.

Meet the exceptional individuals who have been selected in previous years here.